1. Lets Play Games now at YamahaT150 ARCADE
    Click Here to play
  2. If your have CLUB EVENTS/RIDE & would like to announce it here,
    Message traxxas-modifier about it :-)
    Dismiss Notice

how to connect a tachometer on a sniper 135 lc?

Discussion in 'Modification' started by sniper135lc, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. sniper135lc

    sniper135lc Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    391
    Location (city/province):
    laguna philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    i just want to know how to connect a standard analog tachometer or rpm gauge on my sniper. anyone have known? just please give some diagram connection of the 3 wires. thanks
     
  2.  
  3. haen

    haen Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location (city/province):
    BANDUNG, WEST JAVA
    Country:
    Indonesia
    depends on how the tacho reads engine rpm, usually there's two way to connect a tacho :

    1. RED (+) to main switch (brown)
    BLACK (-) to body / mass
    BLUE to orange cable / white cable (pulser)

    2. RED (+) to main switch
    BLACK (-) to body / mass
    BLUE to wrap around spark plug cable (induction method)
     
  4. dark_sniper_15

    dark_sniper_15 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    tachometer on a sniper 135

    so what is more accurate between the two methods? and what type of tachometer should i buy if i am planning to do so?how accurate is it? what is the range of tachometer should i used?

    thanks for some response.
     
  5. dark_sniper_15

    dark_sniper_15 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    tachometer on a sniper 135

    so what is more accurate between the two methods? and what type of tachometer should i buy if i am planning to do so?how accurate is it? what is the range of tachometer should i used?

    thanks for some response.
     
  6. Guest

    Guest Guest

    all the electric tacho are not accurate, only the mechanic tacho ( Connect directly to the engine by cable) are accurate.
     
  7. SniperR135

    SniperR135 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    it also depends on where and what brand tach you get. I just installed a Type R on my bike and the Black wire was the Positive to ignition wire, yellow with black stripe was +coil, green was - coil, and the redish brown was light switch. ask the shop that you get the coil from which wire's are for what. it makes it much easier.
     
  8. y4stroker

    y4stroker Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location (city/province):
    Sarawak<->Johore
    nice topic! how about installing yamaha 125ZR (thats what we call it in malaysia, 2-stroke 125cc bike) tachometer? can anyone post some HOWTO? the wirings,etc...
     
  9. SniperR135

    SniperR135 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    just remember, not all tach's are the same or have the same color code wiring. so it's kinda hard to explain what wire goes to where.

    I could explain how i installed my tach, but like i said, the color of the wires are not all the same.
     
  10. demak evo z 110

    demak evo z 110 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Country:
    Malaysia
    demak evo z 110 how to install rpm
     

Share This Page