1. Lets Play Games now at YamahaT150 ARCADE
    Click Here to play
  2. If your have CLUB EVENTS/RIDE & would like to announce it here,
    Message traxxas-modifier about it :-)
    Dismiss Notice

Hard Shifting Stock Sniper Mx?

Discussion in 'T150 & T135 General Topics' started by projectdimpreza, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. turbulence

    turbulence Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location (city/province):
    Manila
    Country:
    Philippines
    adjust clutch
     
  2. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines

    Can you post some pics or tutorial adjusting clutch ?
     
  3. jefplacido

    jefplacido Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    411
    Location (city/province):
    Valenzuela-Makati
    Country:
    Philippines
    its the same bro,whether you are using mx or classic,its the same broand one more thing,no clutch levers were placed on the right side.the clutch adjuster located in the crank were on the rightside (classic) and left side (mx)if i am not mistaken;)
    if you get what im saying,on the left upper fairing where the clutch lever is located,by removing the headlight with fairing,you can adjust the clutch lever,
     
  4. jefplacido

    jefplacido Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    411
    Location (city/province):
    Valenzuela-Makati
    Country:
    Philippines
    if you are nearer,you can drop by my place,ill show you how to adjust the clutch...i can help you with that(then buy some of racingboy products):D levers,etc:)
    btw i just sold my classic sniper,and im using fino now
     
  5. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines
    Is it necessarily to adjust the clutch using that lever u are saying? in my point of view its the same with adjusting the nut just above the crank case or is it different?
     
  6. jefplacido

    jefplacido Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    411
    Location (city/province):
    Valenzuela-Makati
    Country:
    Philippines
    may be the same..
    bro the levers what im refering about is the one youll always squeeze when using clutch and handbrakes,thats the lever bro:)
     
  7. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines
    yep i know. but its too much hassle if i need to remove the front fairing to adjust clutch, if i can just adjust it using the 2 nuts above the crankcase. if its different well its worth giving a try.!
     
    jefplacido likes this.
  8. turbulence

    turbulence Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location (city/province):
    Manila
    Country:
    Philippines
    if you are using stock levers, the easiest way to adjust your clutch is through you crankcase.

    Here's the tutorial:
    To adjust, first turn turn screw nut no.1 counter clockwise to 360 degrees as many as you needed to reach your potential adjust. then turn screw nut no.2 counter clockwise to lock it up. pictures shown below. DSCN1985.JPG
     
    jefplacido likes this.
  9. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines
    one question bro? would i still be able to shift smoothly in idle ? ill squeeze the clutch lever then shift gears on idle.. when i do that now somthing is hitting or i feel hard shifting before the gear shifts... but when im running aroung 30kph its all smooth.. i reaaly dont know if they just fit 5gears to MX that suppose to be 4gears only thats why its not that smooth...
     
  10. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines
    one thing that i love about the sniper classic is its shifting everything is smooth.. but with my new sniper MX.. im disappointed by the way its shifts.. i dont know if they just fit the 5 gears on it without engineering it... just for marketing strategy... ill try to adjust the clutch once again hope it solve my problem.:confused::confused:
     
  11. turbulence

    turbulence Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location (city/province):
    Manila
    Country:
    Philippines
    on my experienced bro sometimes that's normal especially when the engine is not yet hot. what I always do is pump the clutch 5 times before shifting on idle and it goes smoothly
     
  12. buko0

    buko0 Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location (city/province):
    San Luis, Pampanga
    Country:
    Philippines
    Noob question here sirs,
    with your ALL STOCK sniper mx,
    what's your gear shifting according to your mileage? :help:
    example:
    Gear 1= 0-20km/h
    Gear 2= 20-50km/h

    i tried this with an all stock sniper mx:
    Gear 1= 0-30km/h
    and i experienced "tok" sound while shifting to 2nd gear. :eek:
    but 30-60km/h in 2nd gear to 3rd gear there's no problem at all.
    is it possible that i over revved?
    TIA. :thumbsup:
     
  13. turbulence

    turbulence Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location (city/province):
    Manila
    Country:
    Philippines
    you cant over rev all stock sniper due to cdi rev limit. That normally sounds due to the shifting gears
     
  14. buko0

    buko0 Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location (city/province):
    San Luis, Pampanga
    Country:
    Philippines
    so would it be safe to say that
    gear1 to gear2 = 0-30km/h is over revved for my all stock sniper mx?
    :help:
     
  15. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines
    i dont thinks thats over reving.. try to check your chains maybe its loosen.. that happens to me when i got a loosen chain... the chain hits the rubber in the swing arm.. when shifting.
     
    buko0 likes this.
  16. buko0

    buko0 Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location (city/province):
    San Luis, Pampanga
    Country:
    Philippines
    i'll try to look on that sir, thanks a lot. :)
     
  17. turbulence

    turbulence Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    356
    Location (city/province):
    Manila
    Country:
    Philippines
    what im saying sir is that there is no such thing as over rev on stock sniper using stock cdi. you can only over rev when you use racing cdi
     
    buko0 likes this.
  18. jefplacido

    jefplacido Super Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    411
    Location (city/province):
    Valenzuela-Makati
    Country:
    Philippines
    bro buko0 how can you over rev with/using stock cdi??its not possible though it has a limiter:) IHMO
     
    buko0 likes this.
  19. buko0

    buko0 Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location (city/province):
    San Luis, Pampanga
    Country:
    Philippines
    i am NEW to mcs so i dont know if i am over revving already or not,
    my primary concern IS that when i shift from gear1 to gear2 = 0-30km/h
    i hear a knocking sound, but when i shift from gear1 to gear2 = 0-20km/h
    it doesn't happen. :confused:
    so i'm wondering IF my gear1 to gear2 = 0-30km/h IS already over revving.
     
  20. projectdimpreza

    projectdimpreza Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location (city/province):
    Pasig
    Country:
    Philippines
    update! adjusting the clutch doesn't solve the problem, any one know a mechanic that can help me out? seems like engine needs to be too warm for everything to go smooth.. every cold start shifting is bad. any solutions to this?
     

Share This Page